Lunch in Central

17 May

Ironically, I don’t have much to talk about lunch in Central because typically I like to get away from the financial area to avoid the workday rush hour in favour of more variety at more affordable prices elsewhere. There’s a saying in HK that Central is 搵食艱難, which can mean either it’s hard to “find a meal” or “make a living”. You either have to make a booking, which would mean somewhere upwards of HKD200, or find yourself spending most of your lunch hour in a queue for something easier on the wallet. Of course, there is the alternative of bringing something back to the office, but I like to go for a walk after a long morning at the desk. Being a creature of habit, today I headed out in search of new culinary delights in Wanchai.

Just over the weekend I stumbled upon this chic-looking vietnamese place just at the edge of Wanchai and a stone’s throw from a tram stop. Though it isn’t within my typical budget for a meal in this area, around HKD100 for a set, I wasn’t up for wandering further and was curious to check it out. Not being much of a food critic, I’ll just say the chicken salad with cabbage, beef brisket stewed with tomato and mung bean coconut drink were all satisfying and surprisingly good.

A final word on lunch in Wanchai is generally I would expect a meal for about HKD30-50 but with all these swanky establishments cropping up these days and the rising food costs perhaps it’s time revised my lunch budget.

One Response to “Lunch in Central”

  1. Alisa May 23, 2011 at 5:54 am #

    It’s always a treat to discover new places to eat and give you more value for your money, but nowadays, I find it better to bring lunch for work, at least every other day so I could stick to my lunch budget 🙂

Leave a Reply

