Recipe: Super Easy Turkey Congee

28 Dec

I have an a-yi (the housekeeper in Chinese) at home who’s been with us for more than 10 years.  No matter how much she says she hates cooking, but she’s been doing it everyday, and she’s doing well in that department (with severe lack of inspiration though).  Anyway… every time I’m in the kitchen, she always nearby looking curiously at what I’m doing and always doubt my cooking skill as I don’t always follow the recipe.

Ok, I must admit that I am a V-E-R-Y messy cook and love to improvise, but most of the time my food turn out to be V-E-R-Y good too. Yesterday I made a congee and it was different from what my mother taught her to do.

The basic of making good Congee according to my family friend who’s from Hong Kong  is that you should soak the rice and soak the dry scallop overnight and boil them in the water or broth for two hours or so.  (You can add tofu skin and Chinese mushrooms too just soak them in water overnight as well) Season only with salt and sesame oil. Then just add any kind of meat you like . My favorite would be marinated minced pork and thousand years eggs.

But if you can’t bother… then here’s what I did for my Turkey Congee

Simple Main Ingredients

Ingredients

White rice – 2 cups is plenty//Turkey Broth –  Just plain broth made from turkey bone and water //4 cloves of peeled garlic//Salt//Sesame Oil// Garnish with Fried Red Onion, Chopped coriander, chopped spring onions and sliced and chopped ginger //

How To Make It : Boil the rice  and garlic together in the pot full of broth in medium heat, add in salt and sesame oil.  Bring to boil then lowered the heat and keep on adding the broth (Yes it’s almost like making the Resotto!)  You want your congee to be thick and don’t forget to stir constantly. Once the congee is thick enough, just add the shredded roasted turkey and mix together then it’s ready to serve.

Turkey Congee

Tip:   To make fried red onion tastier,  add a pinch of salt when frying.

This is the basic of the basic of making congee, there are some varieties to it as well.  I like having mine with half boiled eggs and lots of pepper. Making congee is so easy, one can do it wrong, but my A-yi wasn’t really sure what I was doing.  Half way through the making, I realized I forgot to put the garlic in (Garlic brings out more flavor) so I quickly peeled and popped the garlic into the pot.  My a-yi was asking with her puzzled face “You sure you are doing it right?  Which recipe is that?”

I turned to her, smiling and said… “Mine”

2 Responses to “Recipe: Super Easy Turkey Congee”

  1. Alisa January 1, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    Love reading this post 🙂 The best recipe for me is when you make it your own.I came across your site from the foodieblogroll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this turkey congee widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about turkey congee recipes, thanks!

  2. orawan January 7, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    I love cooking congee and just find out that this recipe is so good with fried red onions. I usually have my congee with ginger and spring onions but this one is much much better. The red onions bring out more flavour. Love it.

Leave a Reply

