Red food at the Red rally in Silom RD (1)

20 Feb

 

For those of you familiar with Thailand’s political situation, you might know about the RED and the YELLOW,and those who doesn’t have a clue, well….I encourage you to read the news on Thailand’s political situation.   

Anyway, politics is forbidden in this blog…but I can’t help bringing politics into this entry as today, the RED SHIRT people were rallying right on the street where I live. So I decided that I should go to have a look.I wasn’t really interested in what they were talking about this time, but rather, I was more interested in the \atmosphere and the food carts around there catering for the rally goers and people around the area.   

Today the Red Shirt people decided to rally at Silom Road, Bangkok’s main business area, the place they set up the stage was right in front of Bangkok Bank Headquarter, and stuffed up the Friday’s traffic even more.   

Ok I should stop now…   

Going to rally is not fun for those who has nothing to do with it, but it created lots of jobs and profits for some people, especially people who sell food. Some of them just come specially for rally, and some who usually are nearby, simply change the location just to show their support.   

*look closely at the red key ring*

The Thermos with Thaksin's Face key ring

I was walking along with my camera, and found lots of interesting things…as well as catching up with familiar faces,  no , not the protesters, but rather the journalists. . . It was fun. . . really but damn hot!   

The Red's drink??!!

So I stopped by and looking for some drink and was pretty impressed with what I called the Red Drinks.. I took the photos and just walk past… I was trying to be very unpolitical this afternoon.   

Pad Thai and Omlette Cart

Since I decided to be non-political here, I did quite well on not buying anything from any vendors today but just walked around asking to take photos. The Padthai and Omlettes cart here is quite typical, but I never seen it in this area before, usually Padthai and Omlettes vendors can be seen A LOT in Khaosarn, the backpacker’s area.   

10 baht omelette rice!

I’ve never tried the omelette rice on the street though, but I’m sure they would be good since they made fresh right in front of you. For the omlettes rice, usually I would eat it with chilli sauce (Sri Racha) Yummy!   

12 bahts Padthai...?

 I’ve tried the Padthai on the cart like this at Khaosarn though,  and it was 10 baht but it was many years ago.  While the taste wasn’t bad but I’d prefer the REAL Padthai. (please search for my Padthai’s blog) Here the ingredients are nothing, just noodles, a bit of tofu, a bit of bean sprouts and a bit of chives, great for vegetarians, but not for me.  

This is classic! Shaved ICE!!!!

I almost bought shaved ice from this guy, but somehow more into this guy than his shaved ice.. anyway.. this is quite classic, I remember, as a kid,it was one of my favourite after school snacks.  Either buying it from nearby the school, or my younger  sister and I would just do the shaved ice party at home. The syrups brand lining up in the bottles is Hale’s Blue Boy, and trust me, they are the best!  

Guava and Strawberries seller

This girl is probably a regular on Silom road, I should’ve asked but I already made the assumption when I took her photo, and this kind of cart is quite new, it emerged few years ago just when Thai agreed the FTA with China on some food related items.  It’s such a contrast here though, while guava, is our typical fruit, strawberries is not.  Strawberries in Thailand is pretty new too.  It was not harvested in Thailand originally, but rather we had to import them from overseas, but they just started to harvested it recently in the Northern part of Thailand. Cheap Strawberries always good, but  I still prefer the Australian ones..(or China’s)  

Fishmaw Soup

The fishmaw soup also reminded me of when I was young. I used to think all along that the soup always come with the very thin rice noodle (mi hun) up until 2-3 years ago, but in fact the fishmaw soup is by itself. Mi Hun is optional. I’m not sure if what she’s selling here is the real one or not, probably not. The real fishmaw’s texture is a bit crunchy. I never knew until I had the one cooked by my granddad a few month ago. It would have a distinctive smell to it and very very delicious while the one sold on the street usually don’t have that smell.  

Pork Pork Pork and the sticky Rice

This vendor is right next door to the fish maw cart and sell the different kind of pork with sticky rice, black and white.  The sticky rice is a type of rice and it’s always been sticky. The black rice is also a type of rice and always been black. The pork..well, pork is pork, but they are being cooked different ways,  there are shredded sweeten pork, sweet pork and salty pork. you can get them all for 40 baht a pack. I usually go for the shredded pork ones, it goes very well with the sticky rice.  

Old style local snacks

Now, this guy is quite interesting, I was sure that he’s a regular, but turned out that he usually do his business around MBK area.  He said he was “RED” so he came here on purpose. But I was more interesting in what he was selling more, these are the snacks that I used to see a lot when I was young. In all of those things he sells I only know the 2 of the names. hmm.. 

This entry is getting long… I’ll continue with this tomorrow…. more photos of the “Red” food vendor to come!

2 Responses to “Red food at the Red rally in Silom RD (1)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thailand: “Bloody” Tuesday? :: Elites TV - March 16, 2010

    […] travel maintains a non-political blog but manages to write about the Red Shirts by featuring the exotic food items sold in the rally sites. Going to rally is not fun for those who has nothing to do with it, but it […]

  2. Global Voices Online » Thailand: “Bloody” Tuesday? - March 16, 2010

    […] travel maintains a non-political blog but manages to write about the Red Shirts by featuring the exotic food items sold in the rally sites. Going to rally is not fun for those who has nothing to do with it, but it […]

Leave a Reply

