Phuket 2 @ Floyd’s Brasserie

27 Jan

As I mentioned in my last entry, I wasn’t being very adventurous in term of food this time. Surprisingly, food wasn’t my priority,but people who I was with were the most important.  Additionally, just to see and observed the city of Patong recovered from 2004 Tsunami was interesting enough for me.

Eating in the restaurants in Patong was expensive, comparing to Phuket Town, Chalong or even in Kata/Karon, but there are some good restaurants worth checking out. We stayed at Burasari Hotel in Patong which was perfect, and I just had to go to Floyd’s Brasserie.

Although Keith Floyd the owner chef passed away last year, but his legacy still goes on through his many TV appearances, his own TV shows, cookbook  and his restaurant he opened in 2007 in Thailand.

Since we stayed at Burasari Hotel, we were not really interested in the atmosphere of the restaurant, however the restaurant was small and looked like they were short on staff. I asked the waitress some questions about my drink, Cherry Temple, to my surprised, she had no clue and had to run and asked someone else. Five minutes later, she came back with a piece of paper and read out the ingredients, I wasn’t impressed but decided not to torture her with questions on other drinks on the list.

 My friend decided to get Floyd’s tribute menu and ordered, Prawn Cocktails (he wasn’t that impressed), the Tuna Fillet which served with wasabi and black pepper crust and chilled tomato salsa and for dessert, Coconut Pie, creamed coconut in sweet pastry served with coconut ice cream. We agreed that the tuna was “super yum”  but the coconut pie? .. the best bit was probably the icecream.

For me I ordered the  Traditional French Onion Soup au Gratin and Grilled Fresh Phuket lobster. The soup was almost perfect, the  combinaiton of rich beef stock  onions and red wine made this soup very tasty, but I was a little disappointed about the amount of melted cheese top of the soup. However, after the first mouthful of soup, I couldn’t resisted to finish the whole bowl. My Phuket lobster was perfect! Well cooked and very fresh. I had nothing to complain but enjoy every mouthful of it.  The main dishes are accompany by sauteed potatoes and mixed sauteed vegetables.

So will I go back there again?  Definitely! There are still some menu that I like to try, and I would definitely go back for that onion soup.

– – – – – – – – – – –

Floyd’s Brasserie

Burasari Hotel

18/110 Ruamjai Road, Patong, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
 
 

 

Leave a Reply

