Zanotti Italian Restaurant Bangkok

14 Nov

I’ve been pretty naughty for not updating my blog lately. It’s been a busy couple of months, and looks like it will continue to be so until the end of the year.

For those who are following the news in Southeast Asia, you guys probably know that my country,Thailand is not quite an ideal country to be in right now considering the facts about Thai-Cambodian tensions, which looks like it’s going to get really big anytime soon..

I’ll definitely be back to blog more after new year, but lets talk about the restaurant I went to yesterday with my family. It’s an Italian restaurant called Zanotti.

This Italian restaurant received many awards both domestically and internationally, the latest being Miele Guide. It is a popular restaurant amongst the locals, expats and visitors. I’ve been to the restaurants for so many years and always been happy with the extensive menus and their appetizers. Since I am now working nearby, I was there early.  As soon as I walked into the restaurant, it was already full on one side, and it was not even 7.00 pm yet. By the time it was 8.00 pm, the restaurant was packed.

Bread basket was served followed by mini bruschetta and fried mushrooms, all complementary from the restaurant. We ordered mixed appetizers big enough for 6 of us. My favourite being Foie gras, pan-fried with raspberry sauce served with rocket leaves. Main courses were pastas, risotto and T-bone steaks.  I didn’t try the pastas but I had a bit of the mushroom risotto topped with white truffles, the aroma was still in my mouth long after the food was gone. T-bone steak was great as usual. Unfortunately, I wasn’t a fan of the side dishes.  The sautéed spinach was replaced with some kind of pickled leaves, that was a low point for me.

Our desserts came in a huge plate.  We couldn’t decide again what to eat so we’ve got mixed desserts with 6 or 7 different kind of yummy sweets. Zanotti is famous for Teramisu and Panna Cotta, and I wasn’t disappointed with those two yummy desserts.  The rest…?  they were gone before I could dig my fork in.

Overall, although Zanotti had gone through it ups and downs with changing of the kitchen staff, but it is still a place recommend for weekday casual dinner. Serviced dropped a little from the last time I was here.  The crowd last night was mixed betwen the expats and Hong Kong Visitors with a few Thais.  (apparently it’s very very famous amongst Hong Kong people) So I don’t recommend for romantic dinner or a date as it was quite loud.

– – – – – – – – – – – –

Zanotti

21/2 1st Floor, Saladaeng Colonnade Condominium

Silom Rd., Silom Bangrak,

 Bangkok 10500

T :  +66 2 636-0002

www.zanotti-ristorante.com

Skytrain : Saladang Station // MRT Silom Station.

Opening Hours
Lunch  11:30 – 14:00
Dinner 18:00 – 22:30

Leave a Reply

