Recipe: Japanese Style Pasta

21 Aug

I just came to realized that when I cook, I tend to cook a lot more Japanese food than Thai food, I guess that’s because Japanese food is more simple and less complicated than Thai dishes reasons and one of the Japanese dishes I cook often is Japanese Pasta dish.

I discovered Japanese style coffee shops while I was living in Japan and was very impress with the menu selections.One of them being Japanese style Pasta or Wafu pasta, mixing Japanese ingredients into the Italian dish, created well balanced East-West fusion dish. My favourite Wafu type pasta are Natsu(eggplants) Napolitan pasta, Mentaiko pasta (spicy cod roe pasta) and my new favourite as of TODAY is “Shirasu and asparagus pasta”

Shirasu or dried baby sadines has a lot of calcium and Japanese people would simply just pour the sadines on top of rice and eat with other condiments. I thought it would be a good source of calcium for my mother so I decided to make the dish for dinner so I went to a Japanese Supermarket downtown to get the Shirasu and other ingredients. My mother was pretty happy with it and I’m sure my sister who will have the leftovers for breakfast(or not!) would give me a nice feedback too.

The ingredients are pretty simple and it is very easy to make, I think that it can served as a cold pasta dish as well, but instead of doing the stir fried, just cook and flavoured asparagus with salt and pepper then mix all the ingredients in a salad bowl, and add in some sesami oil. A great dish for dinner party!

250 grams of boiled spaghetti
2 dried red chilli or Japanese chilli flakes
a small pack of Asparagus thinly sliced lengthwise
80 grams of Shirasu
6 cloves of garlic finely chopped
a handful of chopped parsley
Olive oil
Salt and Pepper

1 ablespoon of Japanese Soy Sauce
1 tablespoon of Cooking Sake

1) Boil pasta according to the instruction on the package.
2) Fry half of the Shirasu in the olive oil until crispy, this will be use as a garnished.
3) In a fry pan, using the same oil to fry garlic and chilli together, add in the asparagus mix well, about 2 minutes or until asparagus is cooked.
4) Pour about 1/4 glass of pasta water into the pan and then add the rest of the Shirasu, mixed well.
5) Add the cooked spaghetti into the pan, flavoured with salt and pepper, soy sauce and sake.
6) Turn off the heat add in chopped parsley,transfer to the dish and garnish with fried Shirasu.

Leave a Reply

