Take a peek at Bangkok’s local market 2

3 Aug
My favourite section of the market is Fruits and Vegetables section as it is the most colorful and nicest looking part, where as the meat and poultry section is the most interesting part. Anyway, lots of my foreign friends and acquaintances usually tell me that they love Thai fruits as there are so much varieties. What can I say, I’ll just have to agree with them.
IMG_3878

Thai herbs and vegetables

Bird Eye Chilli

Bird Eye Chilli

Thai grapefruits

Thai grapefruits

Durian Shop

Durian Shop

Peeling durians

Peeling durians

fruit drinks

fruit drinks

Peeling my favourite fruit: Pineapple

Peeling my favourite fruit: Pineapple

At one point, I was looking for my sister and I’ve found happily her picking her favourite fruits, mangosteens. She is very obsessed with this fruit right now. 

Someone's picking up her favourite fruit

Someone's picking up her favourite fruit

Mangosteens

Mangosteens

 One of our friends was acutally making a comment about this fruit one night at dinner as she scooped the fruit out; “It’s such a strange looking fruit but it tastes so good!”

Puang Malai - Thai flower garland

Puang Malai - Thai flower garland

My last stop at the market was at the flower garland shop. My mother usually buy several garlands to pay homage to the Buddha statues. I saw a little boy helping his mother with making garlands, I thought he was learning how to make it, but his mother corrected me that he actually very very good at making garlands. I remember learning how to make Thai garland in fifth grade for my arts and craft class, it took me almost a day to make a perfect garland, and I still got a D for it. I’m not ashamed to say that my arts and crafts skills are always low. Maybe I should go to flower market and get some more practise.

IMG_3938

Leave a Reply

