People watching at a market in Meng La

24 Jul

It was probably early 2008 when I got a call from my dear friend to go up to the boarder town of Mae Sai to meet with a Beijing based photographer. His name was Mark and this time his project was for a very well known magazine.  I caught the quickest flight the next dayand met him at the hotel.  We agreed to work around the boarder town as my scope of work was only within Thailand.

But like other job assignments, things don’t usually go according to plan, in the end,  despite the fact that I couldn’t speak a word of Burmese nor Chinese, Mark persuaded me to be his travel companion to a Chinese-Myanmar boarder town called Meng La. I had my passport with journalist visa with me and forgot to bring my ID card so I thought it wasn’t a good idea at all to cross the boarder with passport full of journo visas. The process was actually easier than I thought, after last minutes arrangements, thanks to my dear friends, my travel document and the transportation were  ready.

The seven and a half hours road trip was actually worth it.  We spent 2 days at the markets and I actually had a lot of fun annoying Mark with my lack of Chinese knowledge. While he was working, I also enjoyed taking photos of my own while trying to make friends with the locals.

I actually tried to take photos of our main subjects, but unfortunately the seller weren’t happy about it, so I took none. Despite my disappointment, i still had fun with what I do best… people watching…

IMG_5709

 

 

 

 

 

dried goods

dried goods

 

 

 

Chinese dried Noodles with Peanuts

Chinese dried Noodles with Peanuts

 

sleeping shop keeper

sleeping shop keeper

 

IMG_5706

Local shoppers

 

Chinese Cupping

Chinese Cupping

 

Grilled Meat

Grilled Meat

 

waiting for customers

waiting for customers

 

IMG_5698
One Response to “People watching at a market in Meng La”

  1. Aungkana July 28, 2009 at 7:31 pm #

    I envy you, been to places that not many people have a chance to. Nice pictures.

Leave a Reply

